Together at home – Join us for the awards ceremony for the 2020 Nordic Council prizes


The Nordic Council prizes will be awarded online during a special awards ceremony on 27 October 21.10 (CET). Although the coronavirus pandemic may have stopped us from hosting our traditional awards ceremony, it has also given us the opportunity to create a new and more personal experience. What’s more, you’re all invited!

Every year, the Nordic Council awards five prizes in recognition of Nordic literature, music, and film, as well as innovative thinking in the field of the environment. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this years’ awards ceremony will be an online event.

A total of 51 works, initiatives, and artists are nominated for the Nordic Council prizes. Each of the five winners will receive a Northern Lights statuette and DKK 350,000.

Learn more about the nominees:
The nominees for the 2020 Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature…
The nominees for the 2020 Nordic Council Music Prize (44579)
The nominees for the Nordic Council Environment Prize 2020
The nominees for the 2020 Nordic Council Film Prize
The nominees for the 2020 Nordic Council Literature Prize

About the Nordic Council prizes

First awarded in 1962, the literature prize is the oldest of the five prizes. This was followed by the music prize in 1965, the environment prize in 1995, the film prize in 2002, and the children and young people’s literature prize in 2013. The five adjudication committees select the nominees and the winner.

About the Nordic Council’s prizes